How To Read The Shadowhunter Books!

How To Read The Shadowhunter Books!

Hey Ho Bookaholics!!

If you are new to the Shadowhunter fandom, there are some basic facts about the series you must know before you start;

  • There are currently 3 series (as at July 2017)
  • 2 short story bind ups
  • There are also many companion books, including:
    • Shadowhunters & Downworlders edited by Cassandra Clare
    • The Shadowhunters Codex by Cassandra Clare and Joshua Lewis
    • An Illustrated History of Notable Shadowhunters and Denizens of Downworld by Cassandra Clare, illustrated by Cassandra Jean
    • Shadowhunters Colouring Book illustrated by Cassandra Jean
  • There is a movie titled ‘City Of Bones’ staring Lilly Collins and Jamie Bower Campbell.
  • A t.v. show titled ‘Shadowhunters’ aired last year. I advise against watching it as it is nothing like the storyline of the books, especially if you are truly wanting to immerse yourself into the shadowhunter world.
  • You will ship incest (don’t even try to deny it).

20273806 256857068135240 1674737358 o - How To Read The Shadowhunter Books!

Reading Order

In the reading order I will be including only the books in the 3 series as well as the 2 bind-ups; as companion novels can be read at any point in time and do not follow the storyline.

There will be many of these lists on the world wide web suggesting how to read these books, and the orders will vary slightly depending on the writers experience. I want you to know that there is no ‘right’ way, just the way that feel right for you.

Start off with a half marathon of The Mortal Instruments series, also known as TMI. This will include the first 3 books in the series.

  • City of Bones (TMI)
  • City of Ashes (TMI)
  • City of Glass (TMI)
  • The Bane Chronicles (Bind-Up)

Take a break here because trust me, you’ll need it; and begin The Infernal Devices trilogy, a.k.a TID, which in my opinion is the better of the two series.

  • Clockwork Angel (TID)
  • Clockwork Prince (TID)
  • Clockwork Princess (TID)

Once you’ve read – and died – over that series, it is time to dive back into The Mortal Instruments plus the second bind-up novel.

  • City of Fallen Angles (TMI)
  • City of Lost Souls (TMI)
  • City of Heavenly Fire (TMI)
  • Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy (Bind-Up)

This novel leads you onto The Dark Artifices trilogy (TDA), which currently there are are only two books published;

  • Lady Midnight (TDA)
  • Lord of Shadows (TDA)

And if you are not dead after Lord of Shadows, prepare yourself for the upcoming releases for 2018!


QOTP: Tell me in the comments down below how you chose/ choose to read the Shadowhunter novels and novellas, and if you would do anything different had you got the chance to read them again for the first time.


Stay Happy, Healthy, and have a Lovely Week!!


Thank You so much for reading! Hope to see you all back for Storytime Wednesday 🙂
bree xoxo - How To Read The Shadowhunter Books!

I’m a Book Depository Affiliate! Get Free Shipping on ALL BOOKS Everywhere!

© Jasper+Spice 2017. All Rights Reserved. Please do not use without permission. This post was not sponsored, some photos are my own and were featured on my Instagram @thebookishbree. Please follow me on Goodreads (jasperandspice). 

Leave a Comment


No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave your thoughts and comments here :)